The Buzz | Independent Music News •  Events •  Interviews • Resources

Canada’s The Russian Futurists is Back with New Album, Free Download

MattHart_TheRussianFuturistsCanada’s psychedelic pop star, The Russian Futurists, is back with a stunning new studio album –The Weight’s On The Wheels – due out November 16th on Upper Class Recordings.  The Toronto based indie artist aka Matthew Adam Hart produced the new album with the aid of Michael Musmanno (Outkast, Lilys, Arrested Development) and sonically takes his sound out of the bedroom and onto the airwaves.  The Weight’s On The Wheels captures the Futurists in full pop regalia from start to finish.

The Russian Futurists released his debut album The Method of Modern Love on Upper Class nearly a decade ago and quickly caught the ear of musicians and critics alike earning Matthew Adam Hart comparisons to Magnetic Fields and Flaming Lips, raves from Pitchfork, SPIN, The Guardian and XLR8R and praise from established acts Blur, REM and Snow Patrol.

He followed up his debut with two more critically acclaimed releases – Let’s Get Ready to Crumble (Upper Class 2002) and Our Thickness (Upper Class 2005) and in 2007, Me Myself and Rye – a collection of The Futurists’ hottest songs – was released.  The compilation took off and The Russian Futurists found himself touring with Peter, Bjorn & John, Caribou and Junior Boys among others.

In addition, thanks to Hart’s knack for producing catchy dreamy pop music and continued critical acclaim, he found himself remixing Sloan, Lo-Fi Fnk, Stars, Shout Out Louds, Sally Shapiro, Dykehouse and labelmates Cadence Weapon.

Now it’s 2010 and The Russian Futurists is back with The Weight’s On The Wheels – a monster pop record.  The first song on the album, “Hoeing Weeds Sowing Seeds” – mixed by Grammy Award Winner Michael Brauer (Coldplay, John Mayer, The Bravery) – is a celebration explosion, a thumping and glorious beat with classic Matthew Hart triumphant vocals rising atop the electronic paradise; the track is available as a free download for all as of today at

The Russian Futurists bring the electro pop perfection on his first full-length studio album in five years.  Look for The Weight’s On The Wheels on November 16th on Upper Class Recordings with a U.S. tour with label-mates DVAS to follow shortly after.

The Russian Futurists – The Weight’s On The Wheels

01 Hoeing Weeds Sowing Seeds

02 Golden Years

03 One Night, One Kiss

04 Register My Firearms? No Way!

05 100 Shopping Days ‘Til Christmas

06 To Be Honest

07 Plates

08 Tripping Horses

09 Walk With A Crutch

10 Horseshoe Fortune



Filed under
Previous Next
For this post, the comments have been closed.