The Buzz | Independent Music News •  Events •  Interviews • Resources

Introducing Independent A Capella Group Duwende

Duwende (Doo-WEN-day) is a six-person a cappella band best know for their fiercely original, bass-and-beatbox-driven funk/pop style of music. They will be releasing their Michael Jackson tribute album, Remember, this Spring 2011, full of their favorite MJ masterpieces.

Duwende consists of J.Aaron Boykin (Baritone/Tenor), Derrick L. Hicks (Tenor), Abbey Janes (Soprano), Neal Mortimer (Tenor), Edward Chung (Vocal Percussion), and Ari Picker (Bass). Each member adds their own characteristics and talent to the group, giving them the “a cappella” creditability along with the “band” persona.

The New York-based band made its mark with shows in traditional rock clubs and venues, but they’ve also appeared at music festivals, colleges, and special events all around the country.

At the Independent Music World Series, the editors of Billboard Magazine chose Duwende as one of the “Top 6 Indie Acts in the Northeast.” Duwende’s two most recent albums, Radio Screaming andCollective, won the 2005 and 2008 Best Pop/Rock Album and Best Pop/Rock Original Song CARAs (The Contemporary A Cappella Recording Awards).

For more information visit Check out their video for “Thriller” below.



Filed under
Previous Next

  1. [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Noe Pacheco, tammylinette. tammylinette said: Introducing Independent A Capella Group Duwende: Duwende (Doo-WEN-day) is a six-person a cappella band best know... [...]